Dedicated to the pursuit of justice

San Diego Hit-and-Run Accident Lawyers

Unfortunately, some car accidents involve a hit-and-run driver. When a vehicle is struck by a driver who flees the scene, it can present significant complications when it comes to recovering compensation. If you or a loved one has been involved in an accident, contact the San Diego hit-and-run lawyers at CaseyGerry. We will help you recover the compensation you deserve.

Why Choose Us?

  • We have recovered millions in compensation on behalf of our injury clients.
  • We have the resources needed to investigate every aspect of your case and help you pursue all options for obtaining the compensation you are entitled to.
  • We take hit and run accident cases on a contingency fee basis, which means you do not have to risk any money out-of-pocket, and we only get paid if we win.

San Diego Hit-And-Run Accident Attorneys

How Can A San Diego Hit-And-Run Accident Lawyer Help Me With My Case?

After a hit-and-run accident, it is imperative to work with a San Diego car accident attorney. Their familiarity in handling hit and run cases and dealing with insurance companies will help you recover the compensation you need, whether the fleeing driver is found or not. These cases can be particularly complex, and it is often challenging for claimants to receive compensation that fully covers their losses. A lawyer can take on that burden for you and will work hard to ensure your rights are protected, and you are treated fairly.

Common Causes of Hit And Run Accidents in California

There are various reasons why a driver might flee the scene of an accident, but most are in relation to fear of the consequences. For example:

  • Driving while intoxicated. The hit and run driver may be fearful of a DUI conviction or too intoxicated to realize they crashed into someone.
  • Uninsured driver. Some drivers leave the scene of an accident because they do not have state-mandated auto insurance.
  • Distracted driver. If a driver crashes into another vehicle while distracted, they may face additional penalties and be financially responsible for the damages.
  • Driver with outstanding warrants. If the fleeing driver has an outstanding warrant, they may be sent to jail if the police arrive on the scene.
  • Driver without a license. Driving without a license can result in either a misdemeanor or an infraction. If charged as a misdemeanor, the maximum penalty is six months jail time and a $1,000 court fine. If charged as an infraction, the maximum penalty is a $250 fine.

In San Diego County, the ten leading causes of hit and run accidents are:

  • Speeding – 28.7%
  • Improper turns – 14.7%
  • Driving/bicycling under the influence of alcohol – 10.7%
  • Failure to yield right of way – 6.9%
  • Traffic signals and signs – 6.6%
  • Unsafe lane changes – 5.6%
  • Pedestrian right of way – 5.1%
  • Pedestrian violation – 3.9%
  • Unsafe starting or backing – 3.5%
  • Following too closely – 3.4%

No matter why a driver flees the scene, it is against the law. After an accident, California law requires drivers to stop even if they were not at fault or there was no property damage or injuries.

Types of Hit And Run Accidents in San Diego

The types of hit and run accidents that most commonly occur in San Diego County are as follows:

  • Rear-end – 37.5%
  • Sideswipe – 14.9%
  • Broadside – 14.2%
  • Vehicle/pedestrian – 14.2%
  • Hit object – 7.4%
  • Head-on – 6%
  • Overturned – 2.3%
  • Other – 2.2%

Hit and run accidents do not always consist of two vehicles. Close to 300 accidents in San Diego only involved one vehicle. Approximately 203 pedestrians were crashed into by a hit-and-run driver and 94 bicyclists. Other hit and run accidents that occurred affected 86 motorcyclists and 22 trucks.

Hit And Run Laws in California

A hit and run is a crime in California and occurs when:

  • A driver is involved in an accident;
  • The driver caused property damage, injury, or death to someone other than themselves;
  • The driver knew they were involved in an accident or should have reasonably known; and,
  • The driver willfully did not stop, render needed assistance, or provide contact information to the police.

According to California Vehicle Code 20002:

“(a) The driver of any vehicle involved in an accident resulting only in damage to any property, including vehicles, shall immediately stop the vehicle at the nearest location that will not impede traffic or otherwise jeopardize the safety of other motorists.”

Even if the fleeing driver was not responsible for an accident, they can face a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the circumstances.

  • Misdemeanor Charge—Violation of Vehicle Code 20002 VC: A hit and run involving only property damage but no injury. If convicted, the defendant (at-fault party) can face a fine of up to $1,000 and up to 6 months in jail–plus a 2-point penalty on their driver’s license.
  • Felony Charge—Violation of Vehicle Code 20001 VC: A hit and run that causes physical injury or death to another person. This offense can be charged as a misdemeanor as well, but when any hit and run involves injury or death to another person, prosecutors usually charge it as a felony. If convicted of felony hit-and-run, the defendant can face fines of up to $10,000 and up to 4 years in jail.

To convict a hit and run driver of a felony charge, a prosecutor must prove that the driver either knew or should have reasonably known, the car accident injured or killed another person. In addition to a hit and run charge, the driver may face other related offenses, such as driving under the influence, vehicular manslaughter, reckless driving, driving with a suspended license, evading police, etc.

Contact our hit-and-run attorneys in San Diego for a free consultation

Contact a San Diego Hit-And-Run Accident Lawyer

Hit and run accident cases can involve complex insurance issues that make it challenging to recover full and fair compensation. Regardless of whether the at-fault driver is caught, schedule a free consultation with an experienced San Diego Hit and Run Accident Lawyer. We will help you navigate the claims process and will handle all communication with the insurance company on your behalf. That way, you can focus on recovering and have peace of mind knowing someone is fighting for your rights. Call (619) 238-1811 or request a free consultation online today.

Free Consultation

  • Required
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.